Yoga Glossary
Comprehensive list of yoga terms, meanings, sanskrit words and meanings, sanskrit translations for Hatha, Kundalini, Bikram, Iyengar, Ashtanga plus other forms.
TermMeaning or definition as related to yoga in Sanskrit or another language.
Abhasanpower of creation, the experience of having created some external visable object.
Abhilasathe desire for completion.
Abhinavaguptaa teacher of Kashmir Shaivism who lived in Kashmir during the 10th century, author of texts on Kashmir Shaivism including The Tantra Loka, Vijnayana-bhairava, and other works.
Abhyasapractice, the act of practicing.
Adho Mukha SvanasanaDownward Facing Dog.
Adho Mukha Vrksasana PoseHeadstand Pose.
Adwaitaa philosophy according to which there is no duality, only a singular state of consciousness.
Agnifire, the god of fire.
Agni kriyabreathing exercise manipulating of the diaphragm while the breath is held out.
Agnisar kriyaone of the shatkarmas (cleansing practices), intestinal cleansing.
Agnistambhasana PoseFirelog Pose.
Agornathadivine presence governing the yamas and niyamas.
Ahamkarapride or ego.
Ahimsanonviolence, non-injury, compassion, one of the five yamas, or restraints, which are the first of the eight stages of classic Yoga.
Ajapa japaspontaneous repetition of 'soham' mantra.
Ajna chakraenergy center located behind the forehead or between the eye brows, state of intuitive wisdom consciousness.
Alabdha bhumikatvanot able to hold on to what has been undertaken.
Akarm DhanurasanShooting Bow Pose.
Akashaether or space.
Akbarthe 16th century king of Kashmir who built the famous Shalimar Gardens.
Amarnath Caveslocated in the Himalayas, a sacred place dedicated to the god Shiva.
Anahat chakraenergy center in the "subtle body" associated in the "physical body" with the heart.
Anahata chakraenergy center located in the heart region, fourth of the seven chakras.
Anandabliss, ecstasy.
Ananda BalasanaHappy Baby Pose.
Anandabhatarikadivine presence governing the yamas & niyamas.
Anandamaya koshathe sheath of bliss.
Anavamalathe most subtle impurity of consciousness, when one can not hold on to the Shiva state, when one has a feeling of being incomplete.
Anavopayameans of increasing self-awareness using mantra, breath, and cognitive organs.
Annamaya koshathe anatomical sheath of man.
Angamejaytatvaunsteadiness in the body.
Antarinner or internal.
Antar dhautiinternal yoga cleansing "shatkarma" techniques.
Antar kumbhakainternal breath retention, the stage of pranayama where breath is retained after inhalation.
Antar mounainternal silence, a meditation practice.
Anuthe individual, limited being.
Anubhavaexperience, realization.
Anugrahapower of revealing.
Anusara yogacalled heart-oriented, this yoga integrates the celebration of the heart, universal principles of alignment, and energetic asanas.
Aparigrahanongreed, nonhoarding, one of the five yamas, or restraints, which are the first of the eight stages of classical Yoga.
Ardha Chandrasana with Pada-HastasanaHalf Moon Pose With Hands To Feet Pose, often used in Bikram Yoga.
Ardha dhanurasanahalf bow yoga pose.
Ardha - KurmasanaHalf Tortoise Pose, often used in Bikram Yoga.
Ardha matsyendrasanahalf spinal twist yoga pose, Half Lord of the Fishes Pose, Spine twisting pose, often used in Bikram Yoga.
Ardha padmasanahalf lotus pose.
Arjunahero of the Mahabharata and central figure of the Bhagavad Gita.
Asamprajnyata samadhistate in which no traces of thought are present.
Asan pointin practice is the point where after in an asana one holds the breath and the mind goes into silence.
Asanayoga movement, position, pose or posture, and the names of almost all yoga poses end in "asasa".
Ashramaa residential place of people living together, teaching or learning yogic tradition, a dwelling of intensive yoga practice.
Ashtanga NamaskaraKnees, Chest, and Chin.
Ashtanga yogaeight fold path of yoga: yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi, a vigorous yoga to build strength, flexibility, and stamina. classic yoga writings, the Yoga Sutras, were compiled 200 years B.C.E. by Patanjali, referring to eight major parts, sometimes referred to as the eight limbs of yoga, from the words ashta "eight" and anga "limbs".
Ashvamedhaa Vedic ritual sacrifice.
Ashwini mudrapractice of contracting the anal sphincter.
Asteyanonstealing, one of the five yamas, or restraints, which are the first of the eight stages of classic Yoga.
Atmansoul, the individual being.
Aumthe universal mantra, cosmic vibration of the universe, represents the four states of consciousness, Sanskrit word meaning "all" represents the omnipresence of Paramatma.
Avataran incarnation of God.
Free Red Box Rental?

From Abhyantara to Yoga nidra, we are trying to cover all yoga related terminology. Please send us your suggestions.